段英梅,中国/德国

     段英梅,1969年出生于中国黑龙江省大庆市,目前在德国布伦瑞克工作和生活。

      1989年段英梅毕业于中国东北石油学院采油工程专业,并于1991年开始了她的艺术创作生涯。她先后在中央美术学院和中央工艺美术学院进修油画、壁画、设计和雕塑专业。直到1998年,她作为自由艺术家生活在北京。

      段英梅代表着中国前卫艺术的一部分。她曾在传奇的艺术区——“北京东村”生活和创作过多年,并在1995年参与了被认为中国现代艺术的经典之一,“东村”艺术家集体行为艺术作品《为无名山增高一米》的创作和表演。可以说,1993年至1995年在“北京东村”的生活,使她对行为艺术产生了极大的好奇心及浓厚的兴趣,并对其后来的艺术生涯有很大的影响。其艺术创作的转折点,是2000年她在德国布伦瑞克造型艺术学院学习期间,师从玛丽娜•阿布拉莫维奇学习行为艺术,在她的影响下,段英梅成为了一名纯粹的行为艺术家。求学期间她还曾跟随电影人、行为艺术家克里斯托夫•施林根基夫学习和工作, 并参与他导演的多部大型行为装置艺术作品的创作和表演。

     段英梅是一个充满好奇心的观察家,她对生活的方方面面都有着浓厚的兴趣,喜欢提出各种各样的问题。在过去的15年里,她将全部精力和创造力专注于行为艺术的创作和研究。

      段英梅的许多行为艺术作品都是在探索人类的本能,例如恐惧和欲望。各种不同类型的主题都激发着她的灵感并反映在她的作品里,例如对社会、传统观念和人类行为提出质疑。在她的作品中,她经常交叉使用各种艺术媒介,常常把声音、影像以及装置糅合在作品中。她不仅尝试实验性的即兴行为艺术,同时也会去全情投入、不忽视任何一个细节地编排她的艺术作品。

     除了她的个人表演,段英梅还喜欢与来自不同文化背景、不同年龄、不同领域的人进行合作,目前她已经完成了70多件行为艺术合作项目。

     段英梅通过她的行为艺术作品,在诸多如讲座、工作坊、艺术节、艺术家驻留等国内外展出及活动中遐迩闻名。她的行为艺术作品和行为装置艺术作品先后在荷兰阿姆斯特丹凡高博物馆(2005)、意大利威尼斯双年展(2007)、德国柏林世界文化宫(2009)、中国广州国际现场行为艺术节(2010)、瑞典马尔默莉莉丝行为艺术工作室(2011)、英国伦敦海沃德美术馆(2012)、英国斯旺西格林维维安美术馆(2013)、中国何香凝美术馆(2014)、第十九届澳大利亚悉尼双年展(2014) 、俄罗斯莫斯科特列恰可夫国家美术馆(2015)及奥地利维也纳艺术节(2016)等地展出。

     2014年,一部有关她作品的书以英、德、汉三种语言出版,由“北京·现场”国际行为艺术节策展人乔纳斯•斯坦普为其作序。书中作品的选择考虑到段英梅在行为艺术实践中的四个主要关注点,她为这四个点提出了独立的术语,即“日常行为艺术(DLAP)”、“平等合作(ECP)”、“个人作品”及“行为装置”。


Yingmei Duan, China/Germany. Patience. 2004.

YINGMEI DUAN, China

Born in 1969, lives and works in Braunschweig.

Yingmei Duan was born in 1969 in Daqing, Heilongjiang Province of China. She is currently based in Braunschweig, Germany.

In 1989 she graduated from the Northeast Petroleum University in China and in 1991 she began her artistic development. She engaged in advanced studies - oil & mural painting, design and sculpture at the Central Academy of Fine Arts and Central Academy of Art and Design in China. She worked in Beijing as a freelance artist until 1998.

Yingmei Duan is part of the Chinese avant-garde, working creatively for many years living in the legendary art district of Beijing’s East Village. In 1995 she participated in the performance “To Add One Meter to an Anonymous Mountain” which is considered to be one of the classics of Chinese contemporary art. Being based in the East Village between 1993-1995 prompted her curiosity, which led to her interest in performance art and has had a great impact on her later art career. The final turning point came when she began to study in Germany at The Braunschweig University of Art (HBK) in 2000, where she got to meet the performance artist Marina Abramović. Since that time Yingmei Duan has dedicated herself to performance art as her artistic expression. There, she also studied and worked with the filmmaker and action artist Christoph Schlingensief, participating in several of his large-scale video performance installations.

Yingmei Duan is a curious observer who asks questions of all facets of life in order to continuously learn and develop. For the past fourteen years she has concentrated her energy and creativity on making performance art and researching the medium.

Much of Yingmei’s performance art explores human instincts such as fear and desire. Various different themes inspire Yingmei and are reflected in her work including examining society and questioning its conventions and human behavior. Within her performances she crosses mediums and often incorporates sound, video and installation. She spontaneously develops performances as situational experiments and on the other hand she can also plan her performances with intense attention being paid to the last detail.

Besides her solo projects Yingmei loves to work with people from different cultures, ages and areas of life and has realised over seventy collaborative performances. Her artworks frequently in progress can stretch over long periods of time.

Yingmei Duan has made her name in numerous national and international exhibitions, festivals, residencies, lectures and workshops through her performance art. Her work has been shown in, among others Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam (2005), La Biennale di Venezia in Italy (2007), Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Germany(2009), Guangzhou Live in China (2010), Lilith Performance Studio in Sweden (2011), Hayward gallery in London (2012), Glynn Vivian Art Gallery in Swansea in Wales (2013), He Xiangning Art Museum in China(2014), The 19th Biennale of Sydney in Australia (2014), Solyanka State Gallery in Moscow(2015) and Wiener Festwoche in Austria(2016).

In 2014 a book on her work was published in English, German and Mandarin. A publication for which Beijing Live’s curator, Jonas Stampe, wrote the preface. The selection of works in book takes into account the four main focus points of her practice for which Yingmei Duan has invented an independent terminology. She describes these priorities as: “Daily Live Art Performance” (DLAP), “Equal Collaborative Performance” (ECP), “Solo Performance” and “Performance Installation”.


Yingmei Duan, China/Germany. Patience. 2004.