约翰·考特,芬兰/英国

 

1969年生于肯特郡的布罗姆利,生活并工作于芬兰的拉普兰。 

         约翰·考特1994年毕业于伦敦的坎伯韦尔艺术学院。并于1997年在诺维奇艺术与设计学院拿到了他的雕塑学位。他于1997年搬至芬兰的拉普兰,靠近北 极圈,并在那里生活与工作。他的作品在英国,斯堪的纳维亚和柏林都有展出,并且他的表演曾在意大利威尼斯的 Infr’Action Venezia(2013),英国的SpaceX Gallery Exeter (2012), 中国的广州·现场国际行为艺术节(2010), 芬兰的ANTI现代艺术节 ( 2010),威尼斯双年展(2005)和利物浦双年展 (2004)等活动中将观众深深地吸引。

        在这次的表演中,我们将见证艺术家展示他包括绘画和雕塑在内的跨学科实践的不同角度。由于我们将眼见艺术家将自己的推往身体的极限,所以他的表演也可以被 视为一种标记时间的方法。整个表演过程中将只有艺术家轻微移动的声音,而他本人将保持沉默,不会与观众进行交流。

        考特将在表演中交织他从童年到现今的个人经历。他将与一些经过修饰的常见物体互动,例如书桌,字典,铅笔,纸等在教育过程中的常见用具,它们将仅在艺术家 的支撑下发挥作用。他曾经因为无法阅读和书写而离开学校,所以这些物件正与他在教育过程中遇到的困难息息相关。8小时的身体耐力考验指向的正是他体力劳动 的经历,在接触艺术之前,他曾在伦敦的工地上工作过许多年。表演中孤立和孤独的元素与他生活在拉普兰无法用当地语言对话,阅读和写作的经历相呼应。这一作 品也将帮助我们理解考特在创作他的作品时的忍耐力,作品中一些独立的部分花费了400个小时才得以完成。

 

Translator:Yuan Yi

翻译者:袁祎


John Court, UK/Finland. Guangzhou Live 4. 2014.

JOHN COURT, UK/Finland

Born in 1969 in Bromley, Kent, lives and works in Lapland Finland.

John Court graduated from Camberwell School of Art, London in 1994 and from Norwich School of Art and Design in 1997 with a degree in Sculpture. He moved to Finland in 1997, and lives and works in Lapland, close to the Arctic Circle. His work has been exhibited in the UK, Scandinavia and Berlin, and his performances have captivated audiences worldwide at events such as Infr’Action Venezia in Venice Italy (2013) SpaceX Gallery Exeter in UK (2012) Guangzhou Live Art Festival in China, ANTI Contemporary Art Festival in Finland (both 2010), the Venice Biennale (2005) and the Liverpool Biennial (2004). 

In this performance we will witness the artist bringing together other aspects of his interdisciplinary practice including sculpture and drawing. His performances can be seen as a way of marking time as we witness the artist pushing his body beyond exhaustion. Throughout the performance slight movements will provide the only sounds as the artist remains silent, void of engagement with the audience.


Court will interweave personal experiences encountered throughout his life, from childhood to the present day. We will witness interactions with modified versions of familiar objects encountered throughout education such as desks, dictionaries, pencils and paper that will only function with support from the artist. Objects which relates to the difficulties he had throughout his education, leaving school unable to read or write. The physical endurance of the 8 hour day refers to his experience of manual labour, having worked on building sites in and around London for many years before being  introduced to art. Elements of alienation and solitude in his work refers to the artists experience of living in rural Lapland, unable to speak, read or write the native language. This work offers an insight into the process Court endures in producing his work, some individual pieces taking up to 400 hours to complete.



John Court, UK/Finland. Guangzhou Live 4. 2014.