谢蓉,中国/英国

出生于四川,在伦敦生活和工作。

谢蓉在2002年从四川美术学院的附中考入伦敦市政厅大学,她先后在中央圣马丁和皇家艺术学院的取得平面设计本科和纯艺术硕士学位。从师皇家艺术学院奈杰尔·罗尔夫教授,谢蓉的作品引起了策展人乔纳斯·斯坦普的关注挑出并列入2013年举办的第九届Infr’Action 在法国塞特举办的国际行为艺术节并受邀参加在2014在广州举办的DigitaLive。

谢蓉的作品探索非二元论的美学,她的作品在意识观念和视觉审美呈现的同时带有挑战和硬度。谢蓉常常创建出一个单一的,往往诗意的表达,她的意志能量和脆弱本性构成了一个全新的组合和视觉体验。

谢蓉自序到:“我的艺术如翻译的责任一样,是一条探索语言,身体和暗示尺度的通道。像我的姓:谢字,它神奇的勾画出我艺术创作的实践配方:语(言)+身(体)+(分)寸。从中文向英语的转移再反向的思考,我游走在行为艺术, 身体写作和影像装置的关系中。表面始终运动着,深入浅出,我不能在某一点上停留。我流淌着,孜孜不倦的探索延续着。我的名字是哀渴魔根,我真正的中国名字叫谢蓉。我出生在川西平原熊猫的故乡:成都。19岁的时候,我来到了伦敦。在我的作品里,我是作家,导演和演员。我搜集和拼减来自我文化根基的回忆和当下在英国生活中的遭遇。通过行为艺术和电影我探讨:暴力,唯美和弱者之间固有和复杂的关系,重新审视这些对映的结构如何影响和对“自我”与 “身体”诠释。我的作品有三个路径:写作,行为和影像。我的故事植根于我的家族史。我与我的家人关系是我选择艺术的根源。我将我个人的记忆放回中国近代复杂的社会关系中 – 这个关系编织交融了一系列哲学思想,意识形态,政治变革和经济腾飞的洗礼。我的艺术以现场,影像, 自制书,短篇小说和录音的形式承载。在现场表演中我经常将我的身体幻化为文化符号:青花瓷,中国山水画,玉佛头和汉字。我有意识地将当代含义加入传统经典意象。在现场演出中我时常邀请观众一同参与,从观众脆弱的情感和不安的情绪中提取创作的动力和支持,我与观众情感的交织和共鸣集合为一个整体,这是控制和力量之间的拔河。所有我的艺术呈现不断的创造和回收:绘画,写作,行为,影像等等它们解构重组了一个全新的'自我' 也灌入了佛家轮回的信仰。”

想了解更多谢蓉的艺术作品请关注她的个人网站:www.echomorgan.com


谢蓉,一朵小红花,2012,摄影:杰米.贝克

ECHO MORGAN, China

Born in Sichuan, Lives and works in London.

Echo Morgan studied at the High School of the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute before moving to London where she gained a BA in Graphic Design at Central Saint Martins and a MA in Fine Art at the Royal College of Art. A student in the Performance Pathways course at the RCA directed by Professor Nigel Rolfe, Morgan’s work were singled out by curator Jonas Stampe and included in the 9th edition of Infr’Action – Festival International d’Art Performance in 2013 and in the show DigitaLive in 2013/2014 in Canton, China.

Working within a non-dualist aesthetic, where concept and beauty encounters harshness, Morgan creates a singular and often poetic expression where will power and vulnerability constitutes a common ground for a new becoming.

Morgan wrote in her Artist Statement :”The role of translation, the passage between Language, body and gesture. my family name XIE has magically illustrated my art practice. The shift from Chinese into English and back again, the relationship between performance,feminine writing and moving image. Always movement across the surfaces, entering and exiting backwards and forwards therefore I cannot settle on any one point. I am in flux, restless. My name is Echo Morgan, My real Chinese name is Xie Rong. I grew up in ChengDu, the pandas’ home in South-West China. I moved to the UK when I was 19. In my work I take on the role of director, performer, narrator. I am collecting and collaging encounters from my cultural roots in China and my daily life in the UK. Through the mediums of performance and film I explore the intrinsic and complex relationship between violence, beauty, and vulnerability, re-examining how these antipodal constructs impact ideas of the 'self' and the body. There are three paths in my work: Writing, Live performance and moving image. My narrative is rooted with my family history. I explore my individual memory that is deeply embodied with China’s complex society - one that had undergone a series of philosophical, ideological and political transformations. They show as live performance, moving image, hand bind books, short stories and audio pieces. In live performance I often transform the surface of my body into symbols: blue and white porcelain, Chinese landscape painting, jade Buddha and Chinese characters. I manipulate contemporary meaning into tradition iconography. I often invite viewers to participate, drawing strength from the audiences’ emotional vulnerability, and feelings of uneasiness, to complete the performance as a whole. Here, my emotions become entwined with the audiences’, creating a symbiotic relationship based on control and power. All the fragments act as a mechanical reproduction circle based on my Buddhism philosophy of Samsara. “

 

Find out more at the Echo Morgan's website.


Echo Morgan, Red Little Flower. 2012. photo : James Baker.