奚建军, 中国/英国

     出生于江苏省南通市,著名英籍华人艺术家,现工作居住于伦 敦和北京,其艺术作品形式涵盖行为,装置,雕塑,影像及绘画。1986年毕业于中央工艺美院(现清华美院), 中国第一个行为艺术小组'观念21' 发起人之一,1987年移居英国,1988年获伦敦德菲娜工作室基金会DST创作两年,1992年获邀巴黎城市艺术家工作室驻留计划在法国创作两 年,1995年毕业于伦敦大学Goldsmiths歌德史密斯学院获艺术硕士学位。

      1999年与艺术家蔡元合作成立'Mad For Real-疯狂为了真实'艺术小组,开展系列行为艺术的创作活动,两位艺术家曾在英国泰特当代美术馆等欧美著名艺术机构,实施过获得较大反响的行为艺术计 划,其中'俩位艺术家跳上崔西的床'和'俩位艺术家在杜尚的小便器里撒尿'等作品被欧美艺术界权威人士称为:“当下最具有独创和前卫精神的艺术家”。他们 分别在世界上20多个国家的美术馆和专业艺术机构做过个展和群展,包括英国泰特美术馆,柏林艺术宫,北京尤伦斯,瑞典马尔黙当代美术馆等,奚建军的作品被 收藏于中国民生银行美术馆,澳洲白兔美术馆,英国大英博物馆和欧美等个人及专业艺术机构。

      奚建军现任英国华人艺术协会的会长,他是'中国行为艺术研究中心'的发起人之一。2006年获得美国Jackson Pollock杰出艺术家奖,2007年获英国政府颁发的文化艺术基金来得中国考察,并在清华大学,北京大学,复旦大学等高等学府和学术机构作演讲和交 流,2013年创办 ‘中国行为艺术网’ 。2015年获得凤凰艺术'最具感染力艺术家奖',奚建军积极参与到中英文化艺术的交流和发展中,并邀请多位国际知名策展人和艺术家来到中国,为中英文化 艺术的交流发展做出不懈的努力。

XI JIANJUN, China/UK

Born in Nantong, Jiangsu Province, Jianjun Xi is a seminal British Chinese artist, living and working in London and Beijing. He is working in different art media like performance but also installation, sculpture, video and painting. He graduated in 1986 from the Central Academy of Craft Art (now The Academy of Arts & Design of Tsinghua University). Jian Jun Xi is one of the founders of“Concept21(观念21)” - one of the first performance art groups in China. In 1987, he moved to Britain. In 1988, invited by Delfina Studio Trust (DST), he worked in London for 2 years, and in 1992, he was invited by a residency program to Cité International in Paris to work in France for 2 years. In 1995, Xi got his M.A. from Goldsmiths’ College, University of London.

In 1999, Xi and artist Cai Yuan established “MadForReal” art group, which started a series of creations in performance art. These two artists implemented very influential performance art works in prestigious art institutions in both Europe and the US. Among the works, “Two Artists Jump on Tracey Emin's Bed”and “Two Artists piss on Duchamp’s Urinal” were praised by authorities in western art as ”The most creative and advanced performance art today”. They have exhibited their solo and group work in galleries and professional art institutions in more than 20 countries, including Tate Modern, Berlin Art Palace, Beijing Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Malmo Contemporary Art Museum in Sweden,etc. Xi’s works are collected by individuals and art institutions like China Minsheng Art Museum, Australia White Rabbit Gallery, and British Museum.

Jian Jun Xi is now president of UK Chinese Arts Association, and is the founder member of “China Performance Art Research Center”. In 2006, he was awarded the Jackson Pollock Art Prize. In 2007, supported by the UK Art Council Research Grant, Xi came to China to do research, in the meantime, he gave lectures and attended exchange activities at Tsinghua University, Peking University, Fudan University and other universities and academic institutions. In 2013, Xi established “China Live Art Website”, and in 2015, Phoenix Art awarded him the “the most appealing artist”.Xi has actively participated in exchange and the development of culture and art between China and Britain. Inviting many renowned curators and artists to China, Xi is endeavored to promote the cultural and artistic communication between China and Britain.